it’s been a while

your skin smells of familiarity

a sense of safety returns as I reach my hand across and wrap around you as your body lays intertwined in bedsheets

as we curl up in the dark, slowly diminishing any space between us, nights of whiskey-filled laughter and sweet-intention-filled kisses seep into my mind

running my hand along your arm, reminding me of those night I would kiss you as you slept

though this time my lips never touched skin

we just lay there, bodies intertwined
we are no longer what we once were
we are no longer those people
you never were mine
but in this moment

I feel your love fill my heart for the last time

Leave a Reply

