darling, I’d care 

You joked about killing yourself,
that nobody would care
I know you well enough to know
it wasn’t serious
but it was to much for me to bear

Without second guessing I yelled across the parking lot..

…”me, I’d care”

It was a reaction I hadn’t thought about
I didn’t mean to yell it out
But I would be sadden by your death,

I confessed how much you meant to me
I’m tired of holding it in my chest,
letting it burrow in my hallow hole
that’s become a nest
For unsaid words and untaken actions,
all of my “what next”

2 thoughts on “darling, I’d care 

Leave a Reply

