she had lips of rose petals

She had spoken with silken words, and her tongue could spin thread better than any seamstress. With lips as delicate as rose petals, I watched them… wondering what roses taste like.

Though roses have thorns, and with thread comes needles. It was inevitable that eventually I would draw blood through her hands. It was unexpected that I would impale myself on such beauty, as to where I was afraid that my blood would taint the silk or wilt her roses.

But it was my hands that drew blood, she was never close enough to be near when it drips – you cannot ruin what lays not within your grips.

3 thoughts on “she had lips of rose petals

  1. This poem is lethal. I think it shows how one can see they are beautiful and still hate themselves. To the self mutilating person they don’t see themselves as destroying something of tremendous values since they, themselves, will never reach that or aren’t in possession of it, from their perspective. In other words if it is not true in the mind it isn’t true socially.

    Like

Leave a Reply

