ink filled memories

Have you
Become nothing but a muse
The reason my pen hits paper
In the midst of the night

I seem to write about old memories
I’ve grown fond of
As we’ve not created more

Instead
There’s a distance between us
While not unusual
This time it’s greater
You’ve ventured further this time

I can’t remember
when I last held you in mine
For it’s been too long
The scent of your hair
Has been washed away
I no longer feel your touch

Until I close my eyes
And write about your soft brown eyes
Or your sweet lips against mine
Only memories of what has been
Not what is
Reminiscing a past that is no longer

I’ve romanticized something
That never was
Never has
And never will be

But when this pen hits paper
You’re everything
I wish we could have been

Leave a Reply

