she was the masterpiece I wish I saw that night 

 

With the taste of champagne on my lips
I stared at oil painted portraits
and friendly faces
I had asked you to accompany me
However, art doesn’t excite you

We may not share this passion
But I wish instead of seeing strangers
drinking wine
That I could explain my interpretations
with your hand in mine

For your beautiful face made each painting dull in comparison
I wish to see the low lights
Flicker in your glistening eyes
for I’d get lost in them a thousand times
There is no masterpiece to me
other than the love I’ve painted across
my canvas of a heart

Though you are not here
And you are not mine
Maybe we’ll meet here, my love
Another time

Leave a Reply

