Nothing more than “almost”

I want to scream at the top of my lungs.
I want you to notice me, to care.
How am I supposed to tell you
what I’m feeling if you don’t ask?

I know that’s a telltale sign
that you have no interest
in how I feel anymore.
I was a fleeting feeling for you.

When your roots buried so deep into my heart, I know months from now I’ll still be removing the splinters.

I saw you the other day,
I’m not sure if you ignored me
or maybe you didn’t see me.
I can’t tell the difference anymore.

How can one girl be so cold?

How can anyone be so cold..
You said things never changed,
but dear god did they change.

You can’t tell me you didn’t feel it,
you can’t tell me
that when you stayed up all night
telling me about your childhood,
your fears,
how you’ve not felt this comfort
from another in a while..

And now claim it was all me.

I can’t be the only one who thought this was something.

You can’t tell me
your fear of relationships
is the reason you’ve walked away
while reassuring me

that I would be the girl you’d be with
if you weren’t so afraid.

That you want to hold me,
and keep me around
because I make your heart warm.

And turn around
and tell me it was nothing
that we were nothing

that nothing changed

Leave a Reply

